1. Default SF to Riverside and Riverside to Tusayan

Dear all,

I am a Singaporean (where we do right hand drive in a really small country: 31 miles from east to west) driver whose longest driving time has thus far been 2h at a stretch. I have never done a left hand drive before.

I am planning a longish trip in the US to visit friends I have not seen for years and am considering driving in between - a road trip is on my bucket list and so is driving a muscle car - so I'd like to check both off.

Thus far this is the itinerary I have planned:

• Day 1 - land in SFO from Austria (where I will be attending a work related course) and visit a friend in SF
    • Day 2 and 3 - pick up a rental car (looking at the Dodge Challenger from Hertz) and drive Highway 1 over 2 days to LA/Riverside, with a night stopover at San Simeon. Return muscle car at Riverside
    • Day 4 - stay with a friend at Riverside for a day to catch up
    • Day 5 and 6 - pick up a car and drive from Riverside to Tusayan (will try to drive the old Route 66 if possible), which will be my base to explore the Grand Canyon. Probably a one night stopover midway.
    • Day 7 and 8 - explore the Grand Canyon
    • Day 9 - drive from Tusayan to the Petrified Forest/Painted Desert. Half a day there, followed by a drive down to Phoenix where I will return the car and fly from Phoenix to North Carolina
    • Day 10 and 11 - meet another friend in North Carolina. We might rent another car and drive to Disneyworld in Florida from there.
    • Day 12 - flight to New York from either North Carolina or Florida
    • Day 13 and 14 - meet up with friend in Brooklyn
    • Day 15 - fly home to Singapore

This will be in the last 2 weeks of September, going to the first few days of October.