Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default First Solo Roadtrip

I am still in the very early stages of planning, but thought it would be wise to get all your input from the get go.

I am a male, aged 18 who is currently living in Scotland and I have done countless UK family roadtrips and a family roadtrip through most of Western Europe, so I am no stranger to the concept, although I have never done a solo trip before, so to do what I plan (which will more than likely change drastically as all you veterans help me out) will be a massive task to undertake.

Before I begin explaining my basic plans so far, I will let you know that I will be updating this thread regularly, so if you do help me out, please re-visit the thread often for updates and further help, thank you. Also, please treat me as a complete novice, I will take no offense.

I'll start with the basics, the places that are a must to stop in, in order of beginning to end of the trip:

Key West, Florida > Miami, Florida > Indianapolis, Indiana > Gardiner, Montana > Vancouver, BC, Canada (I have extended family living there, and would potentially be staying with them) > Santa Monica, California.

6 main destinations.

Scotland: Leave for Key West on the 1st day.

Key West: Arrive on the 1st day, spend the rest of the day relaxing; Spend the next day sight-seeing; Leave for Miami on the 3rd day.

Miami: Arrive on the 3rd day, spend the rest of the day relaxing; Spend the next day sight-seeing; Leave for Indianapolis on the 5th day.

*Three overnight stops, destinations not yet decided*

Indianapolis: Arrive on the 8th day, spend the rest of the day relaxing; Spend the next day sight-seeing; Leave for Gardiner on the 10th day.

*Four overnight stops, destinations not yet decided*

Gardiner: Arrive on the 14th day, spend the rest of the day relaxing; Spend the next 5 days exploring Yellowstone; Leave for Vancouver on the 20th day.

*Two overnight stops, destinations not yet decided*