1. Default entire summer off

I live in Maine and have the entire summer off. I plan on traveling alone, (unless I get various people to join me at various places) which I've never done before. I want to explore the northwest part of the country but do not know where to start. Flying to a west point(Las Vegas?) and renting a car may be the way to go . I don't really camp but would. I also don't want to stop and find differnt a place to stay every night as that gets old for me and isn't relaxing. Should I pull a teardrop? Buy a VW camper? Then again I know squat about cars so probably not wise. I'd like to spend three weeks or more, if I can. Any suggestions are welcome.

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

So much of your trip depends upon how much time you want to spend on the road (just 3 weeks or the entire summer), and what things you really want to see. If it is 3 weeks, then flying and renting a car is probably your best bet, but if you've got more time, then you might enjoy driving from coast to coast. If you want to explore the Northwest, then flying to someplace like Seattle or Portland would probably make more sense than flying to Las Vegas or somewhere else in the southwest, but that also will be up to you.

Purchasing a vehicle just for one trip rarely makes sense, and if you don't like camping, then I don't know why you'd camp or even consider buying a camper. If you're buying such a vehicle or trailer, you're certainly not going to save any money on this trip vs. just staying in hotels.

Tucson, AZ

Default Three Week-Long Vacations?