1. Default 3 week western RT from Michigan route 66, N through CA?, NE on return Need help

I am new to RTA. I'm a single dad of two tweens, working 50+ hrs, and am time restrained for research, so I am asking for help with the routing and planning, from those of you with a little more experience. I have heard stories from a former co-worker of his travels, where you could take the southern route (route 66 as I remember), through CA. and a northern route back, and see pretty much everything. However, the more I read, the more I see that I need help with "reasonable" planning.
    I am mainly interested in the natural sights, and points of interest, but don't have any real interest sight seeing in any cities. I had a "to see" list, but it's rather long, and would like your opinions on "must see" first, and what is reasonable to squeeze in.
    The top of the list is the Grand Canyon, (2-3 days?) white water rafting (fairly mild), Red Wood Forest, Yellow Stone. and Yosemite. any other sights, points of intrests (old western town), or stays, along the way would be great. Also a special place of intrest for a 12 yr. old girl, and a destination for the 4th of July too.
    We are life long campers, but have not taken an extended road trip of more than a weeks travel. We are packing a scamper camper set up for very quick easy overnighters along the way. We will be departing on June 26 for three weeks, with a goal of seeing as much as we can see of the west!
    Any suggestions, or thread leads for this trip would be helpfull and greatly appreciated.

Tucson, AZ

Default Already Full Up

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!