Markmac Guest

Default Summer Road Trip in June South West Area??

Hi,

Great forum....

Hope you can help with this one. Myself a few friends are planning an American Road Trip. We plan to go next June 2006 (granted it's a little time yet, but want to be well prepared).

To be perfectly honest, being from the UK we are clueless with the whole 'RV thing' and would appreciate any advice.

I have been given the details of the below rental companies by an American friend;

http://www.mikethompson.com/cgi-bin/...e=go_mini.html

http://www.elmonterv.co.uk/C25.htm

Being a little tight, we are looking for the most competitive deals, what is a typical price for a 3 week vacation? Any other companies, we should check out?

Furthermore, being a group of 4 guy's in our mid twenties.. Any routes to recommend. We were thinking Los Angeles, Vegas, Phoenix then the West Mexican Coast for a bit???

Thanks in advance,

Mark.

Welcome to the forum!

I have no experience renting an RV so I can't help you with rental fees. However, you should know that you can't take a vehicle into Mexico without getting a specific insurance policy for that vehicle. Further, I'm pretty sure that you can't take any vehicles rented in the US into Mexico. Before you get further with your planning, you'll want to confirm this.

Here's my take on RV travel....RVs use a LOT more fuel than regular passenger vehicles. If you're traveling significant miles, the savings on hotel stays will be more than outweighed by the increase fuel costs. And, to be honest, campground fees aren't that much less than budget hotels. Yes, you will also save on meals by preparing your meals in the RV. But you can do the same with a passenger vehicle.

And there will be things you will need to learn and become comfortable with like leveling it, dumping the grey and black water tanks, etc. You will also find some of the best routes more difficult to drive in an RV due to narrow roads, tight corners, and elevation changes.