Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 3-day Flight

Default 3-day Flight

This may not be the right place to post such a topic but I thought I would give it a try since the members here host such a wealth of useful and interesting information.

For a while I have thought about flying over the desert southwest in a small plane (I am a private pilot) to discover the amazing landscape from the air. I am considering going for a 3-day trip sometime in June around all the southwestern states in a Cessna 172. My tentative plan consists of flying from Palm Springs, CA to the Grand Canyon, AZ then to Santa Fe, NM and finally back to Palm Springs. I know this is not a roadtrip per se, but since quite a few of the members here have been all around America, I was wondering if you could offer me advice on what would be particularly worth seeing from the air, and where I should stop along the way.

After seeing the Grand Canyon from the air, I thought of flying over monument valley and then across south-western Colorado and into New Mexico. From there I would traverse the state of Arizona before returning to Southern California. 3 days would give me plenty of time to stop and look around several times a day figuring I could average about 130 mph ground speed. I haven't seen any of the Southwest, except for Southern California, but I've heard it is spectacular.. so those of you who know it well, where would you advise me to go given I would be able to experience it all from above?

Thanks in advance!

Default Several pilots on this board

Quote Originally Posted by NH87
    This may not be the right place to post such a topic but I thought I would give it a try since the members here host such a wealth of useful and interesting information.
    Several members of this community are also pilots so you may get some ideas.