Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Uisce Beatha Guest

Default Help an Irish bloke!!

Complete beginner to the road trip thing. I am planning to go to Boston around the end of November and I'm planning on "casually" getting myself to California, taking about 6 months to do this, on my own. Any advice on routes, must see places, economical/reliable vehicles or money saving tips would be hugely appreciated!!

Default Six Months! That's Fantastic!

Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum, Uisce Beatha!

Sounds like you've got a great adventure ahead of you -- I'm envious! Are you planning to buy a vehicle? For a trip as long as yours, it might make sense. A good book to check out is Drive USA -- a review is online at http://www.roadtripamerica.com/read/uk.htm. It's got lots of good info about renting, buying, insurance, traffic laws, licenses, etc.

As for routes, there are lots of ways to get between Boston and California -- are there any places you've already decided to visit? That might help you get started. Since you'll be starting out as winter begins, you might consider taking a southerly route. You could drive from Boston all the way down to Florida before you head west. Key West is definitely worth the journey! But hey, so are a lot of other places -- I'm just thinking off the top of my head.

Again, welcome!

RoadTripper Brad Guest

Default The wonderful thing about the U.S.

Is that no mater where you go, there is something to see! National Parks and other Federal Protected Lands (Forests, National Battlefields, Historic Sites) make really good points, and state parks do as well. Some small towns can have nice downtown areas to walk though.
    Country lanes are also great if you are into the "act of driving in spectacular area" rather than going to an actual park or place. Many paved county roads have some really great views. They are just off the beaten path.