Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Jon Kushner Guest

Default Grand Canyon mid January

After a trade show in Vegas (mid Jan) my plan is drive out to Grand Canyon. I only have 3 days and I assume the South Rim is the closest to Vegas? Can anyone give me hints on good lodging there? How long in advance should one make reservations? Thanks

Jon

Default Really good intel

Jon,

Use the search button (gray button) and search with "grand canyon lodging" and will you get ample ideas from folks who visit the south rim several times a year.

The north rim will be closed when you are around.

Mid-week reservations 3-4 weeks advance notice. But there are cancellations.

Shashank Guest

Default Grand Canyon trip this December

Hi all,
    I am planning a one day trip to GC around the 29th of Dec. I have no experience of driving in the snow and hence I would like someone to tell me how difficult/risky it would be. Also, what would be the best route to reach GC from Berkeley?

Thanks,
    Shashank.

4. Default Maybe snow, maybe not

You have very good odds of finding the route completely clear of snow and ice, and easy driving. Anyway, even if it does snow, you'll probably make it through OK as the highway departments do a very good job of keeping major highways passable. Take I580 over to I5, that to SR58 (if you run a search on the forum on "Bakersfield", my bet is you'll come up with a couple of suggestions for local roads in the Bakersfield area that will save you some time). If you can't locate them, let me know and I'll look into it further for you). Take SR58 to I40 at Barstow and that to SR64 at Williams, AZ. The Canyon is an hour's drive north of Williams.