imported_john Guest

Default Car Hire and insurance

Have been checking out car rental companies for car hire from Los Angeles in October. Rates seem o.k. but unable to get good information on insurance needs. We have taken out travel insurance but are uncertain if this will cover us enough. It seems as though Collision Damage Waiver and Extended Protection are optional, but also very expensive. Do we need either of these. Any suggestions regarding this and the best rental companies etc. greatly appreciated.

3 Aussies

2. Default Unsure

Please note I am not an insurance expert, but here's my advice based on my experiences:

What does your travel insurance cover, exactly? That's your first question to answer. Does it leave a deductible for you to pay if a mishap occurs?

As a US citizen, my insurance coverage for my vehicle covers me in rental vehicles, but leaves me with a deductible amount to pay if I sustain damages -- $500 or $1000 are typical deductible amounts -- this means that amount comes out of your pocket first before the insurance pays anything. That's the amount a collision or loss damage waiver would cover for you. You could choose to accept that risk yourself, and save the cost of the CDW, or another choice is to pay for the rental with a credit card that provides the same coverage (a CDW) for you. Diners Club cards, for example, have this coverage included as do many other premium credit cards.

I would check into the travel insurance you've already purchased and see what it covers and what, if any, the deductibles are. If it covers you 100%, and includes adequate liability protection as well as "collision" and "comprehensive" coverages, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverages, and medical payments, then you do not need to purchase the CDW or LDW. If it doesn't cover you 100%, then find out what the difference is and whether you are comfortable assuming that amount of risk.