OK -- Here's an odd road trip for ya. I live in Mystic, CT, and will be heading to the Jersey Shore in late June for about 5 days. Although I'm a native "Jersey Girl", I've never done any camping in the Shore region. We need tips on good campgrounds that are close to the beach, anywhere between Seaside Heights and Cape May but especially close to the Wildwoods. (I want to photograph the wild retro signage and architecture!)Any other tips on that part of the Shore would be great, too. I'm more familiar with the Northern end, so I'm a South Jersey newbie.

Immediately after that we are heading to Midcoast Maine for the second 5 days. We'll be centered around Boothbay for an event, but I'd like some tips on eateries and places to see. I was thinking aboutn taking a boat to Monhegan for the day. Offbeat, quirky, and old-school Classic Maine places are my favorite.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Default Stonington Harbor -- Deer Isle

Stonington Harbor is about as old school as it gets.

In the last couple of days there have been some really cool Maine destinations posted here (use the gray search buttons) but Durham has a very cool, retro-sorta sauna-commune (actually, my intel might be rusty).

Melanie Guest

Default Maine

I live in the Boothbay area so am really familiar with it.

Here goes.

Best breakfast: Ebb Tide which is a funky little restaurant that's been around forever, has great food and very cheap. They also make a great fish chowder and their peach shortcake is out of this world and huge! Don't let the lines scare you off however; they move quickly :).

For lunch; Another funky little place but this one overlooks the harbor. You can sit inside or out. They have stuff like quiche, lobster salad, homemade soups and desserts, burgers, quesadillas.

Both of the above places are right on Commercial St., the major street through town.