imported_Judy Guest

Default headed n, s, or w from CT? Can't decide

I'm celebrating my 60th birthday by taking a road trip by myself. Problem is I can't decide which way to go! Will be leaving Nov.2 for 1 1/2 weeks.
    Could go to Canada, but maybe too much snow by now? Thought I'd head to Chicago, and then back through Nashville, Asheville, and Charleston. I'd also like to go to Gettysburg.
    I'd like to drive at a leisurely pace and stop whenever I see something interesting.

The question actually is how much ground can I reasonably expect to cover driving no more than maybe 5 hours a day, and how much of it can be off the interstates? Is this itinerary too ambitious?

Thanks in advance.
    Judy

Default Miles per hour

Judy, as a professional driver, I used to be very concerned about how much distance I could reasonably expect to cover. I learned (over time) that a good rule-of-thumb was about 51 or 52 mph on average, all things considered (normal breaks, fuel stops, meals, etc). That number goes up a little if driving all interstates, and down a bit if there is NO interstate driving involved -- but not much in either case. Driving faster never seemed to make much difference, believe it or not (one of the reasons I don't speed). If you accept that premise, 5 hours of driving each day will net you about 250 miles. All you need do is figure your total mileage, add in your major stops, and you'll be able to see if the number of days you have available matches the goal. Bob

Default Travel

Good advice by Bob. If you go to Asheville, NC make sure you stop in to see the Vanderbilt Mansion, awesome.

Default Yes!