imported_Danny Guest

Default Going around the country 1st time

Planning a road trip for November, leaving from LA, and going to:

Phoenix - El Paso - Austin (3 days) - New Orleans (3 days) - Memphis (2 days) - Nashville (3 days) - cincinati - New York (4 days) - buffalo - Chicago (4 days) - sioux falls - rapid city - Cody WY (2 days) - spokane - Seattle - Portland/Eugne - Volcano CA - Oakland

Thus far I am planning a little over a month, and about 1500$ for gas (I have a 91 Toyota Camry Station Wagon that gets about 17 MPG).

Curious if anybody could give me any tips they might have, or things to look out for. I'm pretty new at this, so any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Danny

Default Cody in November?

Danny,

There are some serious mileage legs in there. Are those time periods critical? Winter weather could affect the timetable somewhat.

Be sure and check out the new natural history museum wing in Cody -- thought by many to be the finest in the world. Do you have familiy in Cody?

imported_Danny Guest

No, no family in Cody. More just curious to check out the area, as I want to see as much of this country that doesn't look like LA as possible.

As for the time periods, they aren't particularly critical, although I would like to try and maintain something close to that schedule, just to make sure I don't run out of money. Am I being unrealistic? I figure the longest I'll have to drive in 1 day is 10 hours. Granted that's a fairly long time, but I think it's do-able.

My other option would be to postpone the trip until early next year some time, possibly February or March, however, I'd like to avoid this if at all possible.

Default Winter RoadTrips

Danny,