imported_Leah Guest

Default Need route help...

I'm moving back to Seattle from NYC next month and I have invited a friend along to make the trek west. I want the quickest route possible but at the same time, I'm a photographer so I'd like the prettiest/most interesting route as well. Does anyone have any suggestions on the best way to go??? Please help.

Thanks!!!

imported_John Guest

Default Nice trip...

<font face="arial" font color="3300CC">
    It's kind of like that cliche, "can't have your cake and eat it." You're not going to get both.<br>
    <i>Quick</i> is taking the freeway, and <i>photogenic</i> is taking backroads. You'll have to mix it up by getting off the freeway every now & then take some rural highways.<p>
    You're not going to see much at all anyway until you get across the midwest plains (Missouri, Kansas,etc.) I would suggest dipping down across Indiana, Illinois, and then across Missouri and Kansas on I-70 which will take you through Colorado and into Utah.<br>
    From there, you can cut up through Boise, Idaho and then up across Oregon and into Washington. That's the way I took back in '96. I would recommend taking the alternate hwy in Colorado that routes you up to Independence Pass (12k Feet elevation!). It brings you back to I-70. I can't remember the name of it, but it's big enough to see on the map.<br>
    <p>
    I would say this is the quickest route giving you access to some good sites. <br>
    I would also advise driving across Missouri and Kansas during the night, because during the day it will drive <i>you</i>...insane. It is just bare and empty.<br>
    Good luck with the trip! </font>

kristy Guest

Default NY to Sea