Default NY to LA buying a Mustang

Hi Everyone, I'm an Australian newbie and have a situation that I am contemplating, buying my dream car in New York, a 68 GT hardtop Mustang, where it is currently for sale, and driving it to LA to put on the boat and I need to know a few details. I will check out the search area for buying car in US but I don't think there is a thread there to suit my situation.
    Do I need an american address to have the registration transferred to, can I get insurance for my circumstance and of great importance to me is will my car be safe during overnight stops getting to LA.
    Looking at this site, the best track is the I-70 out of New York.
    My son will be attending college in Kansas so I will detour down I-44 to take in his school and some baseball games and then maybe continue on 44 then to 40 and around that way.
    Will the weather in November taking this route be Ok, will I encounter any snow etc.
    Thanks for your time and any suggestions anyone may have
    Alan

Default Sweet Ride

Welcome to the RTA Forum, and Congrats on the Purchase!

As far as your registration goes, you should probably be able to get some sort of transfer permit that will give you a few weeks to get your car to your destination without actually registering the car. It does vary from State to State, so you'll want to check with NY's DOT or if you are buying the car from a dealer, they may also be able to help.

Insurance is something you'll need. I'd imagine you should be able to find someone who will sell you a short term policy, but I don't know exactly who does that. I think you'll need to find an insurance agent to help you out here.

Your car should be safe as long as you use common sense. If you are really worried about it, I wouldn't watch the movie "Gone in 60 Seconds" between now and then - actually, I probably wouldn't recommend watching the movie at all.