Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thank you!!

pmteet Guest

Default Going half way across country. NEED pionters

This is my first time posting so I hope I do it right.

This will be my families first MAJOR roadtrip. My kids are 14, almost 10 and 8.
    We live in St. Louis and are going west. I am more of a fly by the seat of your pants type of gal. But want to make sure we see some fun stuff and get everything in. We will be seeing Arches, Bryce, the Grand Canyon, Vegas, Sequoia and Kings canyon, Monterey, San Francisco. From there IF we have time we will see Yosimite and back through Nevada. We will then hit the Rocky mountains and back home. We will be gone for 18 days.

I am a little concerned with HWY 12 in Utah. :)

I have read and gotten info from books and this wonderful site. Any other suggestions would be great.

Thank you

Michelle

Default You Need Almost Nothing More

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America forum.

You are doing great as far as I can see. And your kids are going to eat this up. 18 days is probably an ideal amount of time. It will give you all time to enjoy the drive as well as actually experience some of the great locations you're going to be visiting. You're already hitting most of the absolute best the southwest has to offer, so I can only offer a few pointers. You don't give your route, but I suspect that you plan to use I-70 through the plains. If so, make sure that you make a couple of good length stops each day. They don't have to be elaborate, a picnic lunch at a state park, a visit to an old cavalry fort, a stop at a small town playground. I'm sure it's not news to you that your kids have more energy than you do, so let them burn it off outside the car. For other tips on travelling as a family, check out these hints.