1. Default I'm just a beginner

I'm 17...I'm trying to plan a "road trip" for this summer... Not so much a "go where the road takes me" type...We have a destination, and are not looking at very many stops along the way... if we can, I'd like to drive non-stop, changing drivers every few hours.

My problem is, I'm trying to plan a budget right now... I have most things figured out, but I'm wondering if there are unforseen things i'm not thinking of. This is my first solo road trip...so if you have any suggestions on things to make sure to get/do...

Here's what i've already thought of:
    Breakfast/snack supplies (inc. Drinks)
    Music/books/games
    Gas (any suggestions on how to save $$ on this!?)

Now there's one other thing...I'm going to take my car to the garage and have it fixed up...is there anything specific I should have them check and/or fix? Thanks soo much for your help!

Default A solo trip with three people?

Quote Originally Posted by ra.wanda
    if we can, I'd like to drive non-stop, changing drivers every few hours.
    Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum! Non-stop trips, even for experienced drivers are a little dangerous, because of the cumulative effect of not sleeping enough. When I was in college, I and another driver drove non-stop from LA to Washington DC -- the problem was that neither of us had ever been east of the Mississipi River before and so we started staying awake and sightseeing when the "off" driver should have been sleeping. I wouldn't recommend it as a method. If you really need to do a speed run here are some tips. Here are some tips about eating well on the road, and here are some more tips about doing it cheaply.

One question -- how can this be a SOLO ROADTRIP when there are three people going? One thing all three of you should do is to take our roadtrip compatibility quiz and discuss the ramifications of the results.
    Gas (any suggestions on how to save $$ on this!?)