1. Default Trip West in August

Hi All!
    I am new to this but I do have a question. My husband and I are trying to plan a trip from July 30-Aug 13. We are finally empty-nesters and this is our first long road trip alone. I have never been out West so the plan is to take a road trip. I am interested in sightseeing, possibly some short hiking, canoeing... We can camp or hotels. I do want to relax and visit good restaurants and local brewers as well. Any suggestions is greatly appreciated because as I said we are new to this. We normally fly to a destination and stay put. Our starting point is NW Indiana.
    Thanks in advance

Tucson, AZ

Default The What, But Not the Where or How

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

The first time you do anything, and RoadTrips are no exception, there are a lot of details to consider that with more experience become second nature. So at this point, I'd suggest you look at the big picture and let the smaller details fall where they may. With more experience, the big picture items will be obvious and you can pay more attention to the details on later trips. Right now, you know roughly what you'd like to see, the 'West', but not specifically where to go or how you'd get there.