Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default DC to Chincoteague Long Weekend Trip in January

Hi! I'm planning to drive from Washington DC (home) to Chincoteague Island in VA for a three-night stay from January 8-10, 2016. I'm traveling with my 26-year-old daughter and 23-year-old son. Both my daughter and I read the Misty of Chincoteague/Assateague books when we were children and have been fascinated with the area ever since! I'm new to DC from LA, my daughter has been in DC since college but has not made this trip, and my son will be visiting from SFO, so this will be a fun adventure for all of us.

1) I'm trying to rent a house right on the beach (literally on the sand/dunes), but keep finding houses that face Virginia rather than the Atlantic and are on the water but don't seem to have real beachfront. Is this because the windward/Atlantic side of the island is too exposed to weather for safe beach building?

2) I have this romanticised version of walking on the winter beach with my kids and my dog. We will also drive to see the wild horses on Assateague. Am I crazy? Will the weather and the beach be miserable? Of course, I realize the weather is quite variable, and it's been a very mild winter to date. Seventy degrees in DC today - December 12! We're not serious sightseers and will probably spend the rest our time together cooking, reading and playing board games.

3) The route from DC looks like 50 East to 13 South to 17 East. Sound right? Any places that are MUST SEEs along the way? I'd love to take a week to explore, but we're limited to three nights due to my daughter's work schedule. My son and I will be on vacation time. An alternative travel plan could be for my son and me to spend a few more days in the area and have my daughter drive on her own.

I'm open to and grateful for all and any advice. Thanks!! Julia