1. Default San Francisco to Los Angeles via PCH in February (10 yr Anniv trip)

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, finding some amazing information. Haven't had to plan a big trip in several years that doesn't involve everything being kid-friendly. Last time hubby and I were away alone was 9 years ago (really doesn't feel that long!).

Anyhow, for our 10 year anniversary we are looking to do something different and have decided on a road trip along the PCH from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Originally we wanted to include Vegas & San Diego, but we only have 8 days and after a bit of research I quickly realized that was too much in too little time. We are looking at 1-2 nights in San Fran, 2 nights along the coast, and then 3 nights in the LA area, possibly staying one night in Santa Monica and then the other two a bit further south since we will fly out of Long Beach.

I'm not sure about the February weather in California. We live in New York's snow belt so we are hoping to see some sun but don't expect to be laying out on the beach. How concerned should we be about it being rainy season and driving PCH? Are there activities we should NOT plan on being able to do? We were going to see redwoods at Henry Cowell, Santa Cruz boardwalk, Monterey Bay, hoping to catch sight of some ocean wildlife, mainly stopping along the way at some of the smaller beaches and coves just to take in the coast. We are not planning on Hearst Castle, maybe just stopping into Santa Barbara for lunch. We haven't decided which towns we will stay in yet on the way down either, but am thinking Cayucos or Pismo Beach would be good overnight points.

Thanks for any insight!

South of England.

Default Unpredictable weather.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

I would spend a couple of nights in SF and include an Alcatraz tour, it's a great experience. If that appeal you should consider booking boat tickets in advance via the National parks website.