Default Seattle to Las Vegas - 3 weeks in August 2013

Hi everyone,

I am new to this fantastic forum, so please be gentle :-)

I also know that a West Coast trip is one of the most popular trips on here, and I have already picked up lots of ideas for my trip from other threads, but as you guys appear to be fountains of all knowledge, I thought it couldn't harm if I asked for some advice!

My fiancee and I will be coming over to the States from Sydney Australia in August 2013. We arrive into LAX around noon on Saturday 3rd August and fly out again on the evening of Friday 23rd. The main reason for the trip is a friend's 40th birthday in Las Vegas, where we plan to be from Saturday 17th to Thursday 22rd August. So we have two full weeks between landing in LA and when we need to be in Vegas.

Rather than stick around in LA or do southern California, we're planning on flying up on our first day to either Seattle or Portland, Oregon, and then find our way back down from there to Vegas. I have a rough idea of where we'd like to go, but I need some help in picking a few stopovers, and ideas for places to visit along the way that might fit in with our interests and what we like to do.

First up, being from Australia, I'm comfortable driving long distances (albeit on the "wrong" side of the road!) and have previously done a 10,000 mile trip around half of Australia over a two month period. However, ideally I'd like to limit my driving on this trip to around 4 or maybe 5 hours a day, and rather than spend just one night at each place on a whistle-stop tour, take the time to spend two (or even three) nights relaxing at a few of our destinations. I have driven in the US before, albeit ten years ago when I drove with a friend from LA to San Francisco. This time, I will be doing all the driving, as my fiancee can't drive.