Default First time to US, asking for advices

Dear everyone,

I just registered my account on RTA. So... hi everyone, I'm Steven and I'm now living in Beijing. I need you guys' advices on my road trip plan in the US because I'm such an idiot for travelling.

I'm planning to go to the US in mid of April for my first road trip there. (Flight tickets are also cheap then.) I've been dreaming about this trip for the past 27 years and finally I got my visa from US embassy yesterday. (Hooray!)

I want to spend a month in the US, visiting NYC and Washington DC in the east coast (for maybe 1 week?), then fly to somewhere in the west (maybe Las Vegas?) drive through some cities (1-2 weeks), and stay in San Francisco (1 week?) visiting some friends.

About the west part, I think I should visit Las Vegas, Yellow Stone (the beautiful views in The Brokeback Mountain haunted me for long), Grand Canyon, Los Angeles, and San Francisco.

I chose these two routes because I've watched tons of movies about NY, I have a really old friend in DC, and I love all the west movies and road trip movies. I was planning to follow a route from On The Road because I love the book, but I think for a first-time trip, this might not be a wise choice for me.

My questions are:

- Do you think the two routes in one month a wise choice for me? Is my timeline reasonable?

- Do you have some routes on RTA that could be recommended to me?

- Do you think if I've missed something important on this brief stupid nonsense plan?

- Can I drive through all these cities alone? Is it a naive idea?

Thanks a lot for everyone!

South of England.

Default The first step.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums Steven !

The great thing about planning your own trip is that you get to go where you want, and to answer your first question, Yes. Your timeline is reasonable and if it's what you want to do, it's a wise choice.