1. Default Los Angeles to Bozeman, MT (Late November, Early December)

Hey there!

First post here... I am a college student, currently living in the Los Angeles area. I am interested in transferring to Montana State up in Bozeman but want to visit first!

Flying into Montana is expensive as hell and quite frankly, I enjoy driving more.

As the title says, I'm trying to get up there in Late November/Early December and brevity is key on this trip. The most direct route is 17 hours. I plan on doing 8.5 hours of driving, ending up in Utah for the first day, then ending up in Bozeman, visiting, staying overnight, then basically repeating the process back down to SoCal.

Anyone have any advice on weather or good places to stop in central/Northern Utah? This is my first solo drive, but my buddy and I completed a big one last summer (From PA to CA).

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

First a couple words of warning about your plans. You'll be in good shape to make this trip in 2 days, but it will likely take you longer than you're planning - as online mapping programs don't account for any sort of stops or slowdowns that are a part of every trip. 9-10 hours a day is more likely.

That's still very doable, if you see good conditions. The one thing you will have to be concerned about is weather. You're pretty much at the maximum distance you should try to travel in 2 days, and if you see a winter storm that slows you down much, you could very well need to make another overnight stop.

As mentioned, you're basically at the limit of how far you should travel in 2 days, and as such, you should aim for the halfway point - that would be Fillmore, Utah. There is a good variety of motels to pick from there, and it should serve you well.

Welcome to RTA!