Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default First Solo Road trip to westbound from Boston

New here! What a nice and helpful forum.

I just graduated and are done with school for good, so this is probably the last long vacation I can get once I start working. I am an international student and I can legally stay here until mid July. I have nothing much to do during this period so a long road trip sounds interesting to me as I can have a good last look of USA and think of my future when I am on the road alone.

My campanion will be a 98 VW GTI VR6. My traveling profile is:
    Sightseeing, attractions, nature, major cities (not priority though), wildlife, buying magnets, sports (not too extremme though).
    Have not tried camping but don't mind trying, motel, nice special must see hotel, car...
    I guess rising at 5am and rest around 8~9pm.

I am looking to spend 2-3 weeks on the road alone, but may visit friends if I have the chance. I am not sure where to go but Yellowstone will be a must. Probably a circle like going to westbound thorugh the south and getting back through the north. I am still doing research in this forum and will post my tenative plan in here during this week. Please gimme feedback and recommendation during the process. I hope this will be a great and memorable trip!

2. Default

I'd suggest a loop that includes: Colorado Rockies, Tetons (Jackson, WY), Yellowstone, Bryce and Zion (UT), Grand Canyon - DO NOT SKIP THIS, it is the single most spectacular place in the US of A. Might want to see Chicago on the way - nice art museum and pretty lake front. Maybe Philadelphia, NYC or DC on your way home.

Better get started. Alot of traveling to get done before July.

3. Default

I have been to Grand Canyon before, so I am not gonna go there again.

Day 1: Depart at 5:30am, Boston to Indiana (836.3 m)
    Day 2: Depart at 5:30am, Indiana to Kearney, NE (1705.0 m) Maybe make this into 3 days
    Day 3: Arrive Rocky Mountain NP at noon (2032.7 m)