1. Default Going to Ozark Alabama from Portland Oregon

I am going to be driving to Ozark Alabama leaving on Oct. 7th. Can anyone give me any idea about potential issues with snow and ice crossing the Rockies. My sister thinks we should go down to Mt. Shasta and cross there, head to Las Vegas then go on through Arizona and New Mexico. She said we should avoid snow and ice. Others have told me to head east on I 84. I am worried about driving across the Rockies as I am not experienced in driving through ice and snow and am not physically able to put on chains by myself. Can anyone give me information on what conditions maybe like and what route would be the safest to travel?

Default Relax and have a fun drive.

Early October rarely presents heavy snow in the Rockies. But the best plan for winter travel is almost always the most direct route. So, yes, the most direct route would be I-84 to I-80 across Wyoming and Nebraska and then SE through Kansas City and Memphis.

Seriously, I don't think you need to worry about snow, ice or chains this year for an early October trip.

It will be a gorgeous time to be on the road.

Relax and have a fun drive.

Mark

Default Totally unpredictable.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

Can anyone give me information on what conditions maybe like and what route would be the safest to travel?