1. Default Midwest ballpark road trip in August

Hi all, new to this site. So my 15-year old son and I have been doing mini-ballpark road trips for the last 3 years (3-4 parks each year, with golf, water parks, a ballpark tour and whatever else we find in between). This year we’re doing Target Field (Minneapolis), then a day off, then down to Busch & Kauffman Stadiums (St. Louis & KC). We live in NJ, so for many of these “road” trips outside of the northeast we fly out & back, with the road trip taking place in between.

My question is does anyone have ideas for how to spend the 1-1/2 days in between Minneapolis and St. Louis? We did Milwaukee and Chicago last year so we’re looking to track west on the way down toward Des Moines, Omaha or whatever else there is that’s cool to do in what looks like a big open space that we don’t know anything about! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Andy

Welcome to RTA!

Why don't you look into taking in a minor league game? There are minor league parks in Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Omaha, and Des Moines.

Default Sweet, Scenic, and Historic

The obvious answer is to spend at least part of that portion of your RoadTrip on a themed, scenic, and historic road by driving the Great River Road. You won't have time for all of it between Minneapolis and St. Louis, but you can do quite a portion of it. I'd probably opt for that section in northern Missouri that includes Hannibal and all its Twain related sites. A little farther north is Le Claire IA, with both a bit of Buffalo Bill history as well as the home shop of the crew responsible for American Pickers. There are also several national wildlife refuges all along the river for just relaxing and communing with nature.

AZBuck
    Last edited by AZBuck; 03-24-2019 at 06:01 PM.