• Lucille's Station - Hydro, Oklahoma

      station
      Photo by Kimberly Goza
      Also known as the Provine/ Hamons Station. Built in 1929, this former service station is one of only two surviving stations in the state with the classic thrust-out upper porch. Renamed the Provine Station in the thirties, it was taken over in 1941 by Lucille Hamons, who operated it until her death in 2000. A small "motor court" was added to the premises and also still stands. The exterior of the station has been restored, complete with vintage pumps posting gas prices of 26 and 28 cents per gallon. So far, however, the interior of both station and motor court appear to have been left as they were when abandoned, with the attrition of time giving them a "ghost town" feel.

      If you go:
      Can be visited any time. Be sure to peek through the windows. Not to be confused with the restaurant called Lucille's Roadhouse in nearby Weatherford, though there is a connection. The person who restored this station also opened the restaurant, in a building of very similar design.

      Links:




      Route 66 and South Coleman Street
      Hydro, Oklahoma 73048 USA


    MORE TO EXPLORE