Road Trip BooksMapsDashboardingRV InfoLinks & FindsFunny Signs
HomeSite GuideWhat's NewPlan a Road TripRoad Trip ForumAbout RTARSS
 


RoadTrip Books
Maps
Dashboarding
RV Info
Links & Finds

Fuel Cost Calculator

LAUGHING DOWN THE ROAD
Caution: Funny Signs Ahead


Go Back   The Great American RoadTrip Forum > Topics > Gear-Up!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2009, 03:26 PM
canon_rob canon_rob is offline
Day Tripper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default happyholidaysmotorhome -

Hello,

We are planning on a 4 month motorhome based road trip in canada and america (we are from the UK) and are searching round the internet for the cheapest prices. The best we have found so far is a family run RV rental company called happyholidaysmotorhome.

They have a UK based site called freedomtours.co.uk and many great testimonials on the sites but we are dubious of their legitimacy due to not being able to find any reviews on them (their testimonials might be made up of course) - obviously we would like to be able to confirm this before going ahead and booking - almost too good to be true??

Does anyone have any info on these guys, good or bad?? - it would be really appreciated.

(We have been able to get about 120 days for £7,000 or $11,627 USD so if anyone knows of an alternative sound company that can get near to this quote we would like to hear about it too!!)

Thanks
Rob

Last edited by AZBuck; 10-22-2009 at 04:17 PM. Reason: Links and complete website name removed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2009, 04:28 PM
AZBuck AZBuck is offline
RoadTrip Guru & Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,295
Default Two Red Flags

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

I believe that you are quite correct to be concerned about this company. Two things that leaped out at me when I reviewed their website were that nowhere do they give a physical address for their company, and all the testimonials are posted from their own email account. I would certainly not give them a credit card number or send them any money until I first checked with the British Columbia Better Business Bureau or its equivalent. For other warning signs of similar scams you should check out this discussion. One company that we have had positive feed back on is Cruise America. That at least should at least give you an idea of what a reputable company looks like and charges.

AZBuck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2009, 04:36 PM
Southwest Dave's Avatar
Southwest Dave Southwest Dave is online now
RoadTrip Guru & Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: southern england.
Posts: 2,208
Default Ditto

I too would have concerns and personally would need to check it out before going any further. As well as Buck's observations their is the "Dutch connection" between that site and the victims from the other link, and for a company that has been operating for 28 years their seems to be little feedback from the Internet away from their site.

If it looks to good to be true, it often is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2009, 04:52 PM
Midwest Michael Midwest Michael is offline
RoadTrip Guru & Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Green County, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,264
Default triplicate

I agree this site looks a whole lot like the scam that Buck linked to above.

It wouldn't hurt to investigate farther, but if you can't talk to a real person, they are demanding a large up front payment, and if they are trying to get you to wire them money or give bank information up front, then you' probably should be looking elsewhere.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.





Copyright 1996 - 2009, RoadTrip America® - All Rights Reserved