1. Default Couple's First Road Trip: Witchita to Atlanta via St. Louis

Let me start by saying that it was a bit surprising and quite pleasant to find a community of people so enthused about roadtripping! As a college student, I find myself missing the good old days in the car with my family as a little girl. My boyfriend, Eric, and I have decided it's about time to do the old "meet the parents:" his in Witchita, KS and mine in Atlanta, GA. I also have relatives in St. Louis, so that will be our first night, but after that we have a very monotonous ten hour day to Atlanta.

I know that the midwest holds all sorts of quirky roadside stops and hidden dining gems...But I've never been on these specific highways minus my family (and minus my mother, our trip planner extraordinaire).

So, my question is twofold:

1. Where can we find fabulous bits of roadside americana to spice up our drive? (Anything from abnormally sized balls of twine to a beautiful old hotel in nowhere, USA)

2. Any advice for a young couple taking their first roadtrip? He's a spontaneous person, while I need to plan everything to the day...but I want to be more spontaneous, just with an evening destination in mind...general advice welcome as well of course!

Thank you all for your help! We're both looking foward to this trip and are determined to make it fabulous...we really appreciate your valued advice.

Default A good distance for a first!

Quote Originally Posted by Adelheid
    Let me start by saying that it was a bit surprising and quite pleasant to find a community of people so enthused about roadtripping!
    We are a diverse group of roadtrippers and all welcome you to the Forum!