Jose Guest

Default Seattle to San Francisco

A friend and I are thinking of driving down from Seattle to San Francisco around Jan 2nd. Any tips anyone can offer? (places to visit, routes, snow problems) Anything will help as I've never done it before

Thanks

Sona Guest

Default Seattle to San Franciso

Hi Jose - I am also planning to drive down to SFO. Did you get any valuable tips? Can you share them with me? I am esp interested in knowing if they ever close the passes in Oregon on I-5

-Sona

Default That is a beautiful drive!

Jose,

I have done that drive a bunch of times over the last 10 years or so. It is really nice. How long are you allowing? What kinds of things interest you?

Mark

Jose Guest

Hello Mark. IN answer to your question, we are leaving on Jan (2nd?) and we should be in San Francisco no later than the 6th...do you think it is doable?

We are interested in off-the-path attractions as well as nature sightseeing.

do you think the weather could be a problem?

Any tips you might have are most welcomed
    Jose

Default Four Day RoadTrip

Jose,

In your last post you didn't specify a date in January, but if it was supposed to be the 2nd -- a four day roadtrip from Seattle to San Francisco is very doable.

Rain along both the Oregon & California coasts and snow in the passes is likely in January, but I have made the trip a bunch of times this time of year with little problems.

If you have time -- swing by Mt. St. Helens on your way south -- who knows it might even blow when you are there!

The Oregon coast highway can be slow going, but is very scenic. The state park system in Oregon may be the best in the country. If you like cheese, be sure to take the factory tour in Tillamook and Reedsport is a great place to watch the crazies windsurf the big waves along the coast.