Cathy Guest

Default RVing from NC to Grand Canyon

Does anyone have any sugguestions on RVing form NC to the Grand Canyon. We plan on going in the summer months. I'm new at RVing so I don't have alot of info. What about campsites and things to see along the way?

Thanks for any info you may have.

Ontario Canada

Default great trip!

How much time do you have for the trip?
    Family with kids or ...?

Oh where to start?!! Many many things to see along the way. Depends how "direct" you want the route to Grand Canyon to be. My tendency would be to wander off to all sorts of places along the way.

Suggestion - if going to 2 or 3 national parks or more - buy a National Park Pass. You can get it at the gate of the first national park you come to, or you can order it ahead of time. Expires after one year.

The national parks have great campgrounds. If in summer months, tourism is high. Reserve in advance. If the campsite is "first come first serve", be sure to drive to the spot EARLY a.m. & "stake your claim". Then go enjoy the park the rest of the day, resting assured you have a spot to come back to that night.

The website to find all the national parks (& their campgrounds) along your route & info about each is:

The website to find all the national scenic byways is:

Here are some route suggestions to start you looking at an atlas:

I-40 thru Nashville, Memphis,
    Little Rock Arkansas (Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site),
    HOT SPRINGS Arkansas (Hot Springs National Park),
    OKLAHOMA CITY (National Memorial),
    Albuquerque NM into Arizona,
    to Flagstaff

OPTION to go south to US-89 Alt & #179 & loop back to Flagstaff on #17
    - Sedona, Oak Creek Canyon, Red Rock area
    - Montezuma Castle national monument

or OPTION from Flagstaff - go straight to GRAND CANYON VILLAGE #180 / #64

OR from Flagstaff -
    #89 N to SUNSET CRATER national monument,
    then WUPATKI national monument