Lily G Guest

I'm a high school senior, and I'm hoping to take a road trip with a friend or two after graduation this summer. We're aiming to go for somewhere between a week and two weeks. I have two questions. First, if anyone knows any interesting destinations on the east coast (we'll be traveling from a Manhattan suburb), I'd love to hear them. Secondly, and bluntly, is it a completely stupid idea for two teenage girls to drive off alone for a week or two? Does anyone have any ideas of places that are more accepting of young travelers? I realize these may be naive questions, but if anyone can help us out, even just with destinations or first time traveling tips, that would be great.

Thanks so much!

Las Vegas, Nevada

Default I did it

My first solo roadtrip of any length was the summer after I graduated from high school -- it was a three week 10,000 mile trip. That was a few years ago...

There are a number of posts on this forum dealing with young roadtrippers -- use the search button on the top of the page.

Boston is fun. Cape Cod Even Long Island can be a hoot. How much money do you want to spend? How far do you want to go?

imported_Brandon Guest

Come to Southern California. Don't waste your time on the rest of the country !

Lily G Guest

thanks for responding!

distancewise, i don't have a real limit. i think that because of time - about two weeks - i'd want to go somewhat close but not so close that it's familiar, between 300-600 miles, roughly. (sorry, no souther california!) i was reading about cape cod, but i didn't know if it was just really touristy and/or obscenely expensive. i was also wondering about the northern east coast states, VT/NH/ME, etc. something beachy would be good since i'm going in the summer.
    as for money, i have some but not a ton, probably seven hundred or so, depending on how much i work; on the bright side, i'll be traveling with other people who will also have money of their own. any other advicce would be great!