Hybrid View

1. Default Moving to Glendale, AZ from Bethlehem, PA on Oct 6th - route ideas and things to see?

Hello all!

I have checked out some of the previous posts and it seems like I would enjoy the southern route which goes through Nashville (as I am a country music fan), despite the fact that the short route that Google tells me would save me about 140 miles (give or take).

My situation is that I am a single female in her 30's and I'm a paramedic who just got a new job in Glendale, AZ. I move on October 6th from Bethlehem, PA and will probably be leaving around 5pm that night (I work the nightshift so being up late at night is quite common place for me) I will be packing up my belongings in a Mazda 3 and that's it. Not hauling anything extra besides what's inside of my car. :)

My move in date to my new apartment is on October 10th, which gives me a fairly tight timeframe so I understand that I cannot spend too long at any one particular place, so essentially what I am asking is what are some nice places to stop along the way that would be suitable for a nice rest stop where I wouldn't be too far off the path, be scenic (natural beauty, not tourist destinations) or good food suggestions (I am not a huge meat eater, but I am also not a strict vegetarian). I'm more than ok with camping in a tent, or staying at a decent motel.

I am budgeting about $750 for gas/lodging - is that enough?

Also, I am more than ok with going the traditional "shorter" route if need be, but I'd like to at least stop by Nashville if I'm making the drive cross-country - not sure when vacation would first be available as it's a new job! Any suggestions would be welcomed as I enjoy seeing and reading the other posts so far.

Oh and if it helps, I am using a Garmin Navi 500 I believe it is.

Thank you!

Default Congratulations on the new job!

Welcome to RTA!