1. Default Planning my first short road trip, kind of terrified to even go

Hi everyone!

So I've been planning on surprising my boyfriend when he gets back from bootcamp in about a week and a half. He lives 2 1/2 hours or so away, but with traffic it can be 3-4 hours. I'm 18, so I've been driving for about 2 years now. I've never been a huge fan of driving long distances, I get very anxious. But unfortunately in this situation I don't have the option of taking a train. I REALLY want to do this, I know it would make him so happy after a really long few weeks with no contact at all.

I guess I'm most scared that something bad will happen during the drive and I won't be able to continue, like me getting sick or passing out or something. I know that is very irrational but being alone would freak me out. None of my close friends can come with me :/

I'd really appreciate any kind of advice on how to push myself to do this and make it manageable!! I really, really want to make this happen and don't want to let my anxiety stop me.

Thanks in advance!

Default Go ahead and do it.

Hi, and Welcome to the Great American Roadtrip Forum.

You sound like you are talking yourself out of the trip., Change your self talk first, and keep telling yourself that you are in good health and you won't pass out. Keep focusing on the purpose of the trip.

A few safegaurds.....

In case of breakdowns, be sure to have a roadside assistance contract, such as AAA. Give yourself a full four hours. Then get into your well maintained vehicle with a full tank of fuel and set sail. Driving alone you will want to stop about every two hours (in your case maybe after an hour), just to stretch your legs and clear your mind. Be sure to contact family or friends at this time and assure them you are OK, and let them know where you are.