Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Seeking advice for driving a 16' Penske truck from Bellingham to Iowa City

Hi all, I'm new here, so please forgive me if I break any forum rules.

I'm planning my route for driving from Bellingham, WA to Iowa City, IA next week, and I'm wondering if anyone here has any advice for me.

I'll be driving a 16' Penske truck with a car carrier in tow. I'm hoping to get to Iowa City as quickly and as safely as possible, so I won't be stopping for any sights or tourist attractions. This is my first time driving a big truck with a car carrier, so I'm nervous and want to avoid difficult roads and hazardous conditions whenever possible.

I'm considering two routes (the intermediate cities are places where I'd book a hotel for the night):
    1. Bellingham, WA ---> Coeur D'Alene, Id ---> Billings, MT ---> Sioux Falls, SD ---> Iowa City, IA

2. Bellingham, WA ---> Boise, ID ---> Rock Springs, WY ---> Kearney, NE ---> Iowa City, IA

The milages and conservative time estimates are given at the end of this post.

I chose cities that have a reasonably large population just because I figure it's safer to stop in more populated places in case we are having any problems.

The first path is somewhat of a simple straight shot east, and is around 100 miles shorter. I plan on taking I-29 down to I-80 for the final leg from Sioux Falls, SD to Iowa City, IA. My problem with the first route is the long segment between Billings, MT and Sioux Falls, SD. Additionally, I found that Penske doesn't have any service locations on I-90 between Spokane, WA and Sioux Falls, SD, so if we had any major problems with the truck, we might end up waiting longer for help.