Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Will have a huge home moving next week (Indiana - Las Vegas - California) by driving

Dear all,

I've been working in northern Indiana for many years, and now I need to move to another job in northern California. Because I want to save some money and want to enjoy the road trip I've never done before, I planned to drive there. I've reserved a 15' truck from Penske which gives me 12 days and unlimited mileage. I will pick it up next Saturday (10/15) and start going on Monday (10/17). For some reason I need to stop by Las Vegas. I have friends in Vegas so I can have a good rest there for about two days, before I get back on the road for the rest of the trip. So I think the first segment from Indiana to Las Vegas would be challenging for me. There is no chance of changing the plan, so I will have to stick to the driving instead of flying there and hire a moving companyy, etc.

I don't know how dangerous (/fun /boring) it would be, and I need to plan the journey for each day, such as how long distance I want to drive, and which hotel/motel I want to stay. I have enough time, so I guess I can just drive 6 hours a day, and spend about 1.5 weeks to finish this task. I don’t need to go any sightseeing so I would just stick to the highway, and after lodging each day I will just stay in the room for safety reasons. I would greatly appreciate if anyone can give me some advice. If you need me to add any detail other than the above writing in order to give me better suggestion, please let me know. Thanks!

Best,
    Henry

Default Fairly Straightforward

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

If you're not interested in sight-seeing stops, are going to stick pretty much to the main highways, and are time-constrained (by the contract length, the time needed to load and unload, and the speed of the truck), then your route and stopping points should become relatively obvious with a little thought.