1. Default 1 Month Road Trip Expedition

Hey,
    Whilst looking for inspiration I came across this website and really welcome any advise, tips or recommendations for a one month stint of the USA. I'm an English Uni student hoping to fly over to the states next year around the start of August with a mate, rent a car, and go on a bit of a jolly around the American states. Whilst it would be great to cover the whole of the USA, I suspect we will be confined to either the East or West, and have planned trips along the eastern coasts starting at either Boston or Washington D.C.. However, with there being such a wide array of choices, options and directions it makes it really difficult to decide on any particular route, I myself enjoy woodlands and lakes and would therefore like to explore the US countryside, in addition to bustling cities saturated with American culture and heritage which offer good music, dining and nightlife. Like I said any advice or tips are welcome as I'm still very much in stage 1 of this planning process

Default Getting strted

Hi, and Welcome to the Great American Roadtrip Forum.

How much you can cover is completely up to the travel style you prefer, but in a month it is quite feasible to cover both the east and west coast. Problem would be that you would be spending more time behind the wheel, than actually out exploring and seeing things.

The number of things to see are countless, wherever you travel. The wonderful and scenic roads to take is well into the four digits.

One of the best things for you to do at this stage is get hold of good detailed maps of the US, and study them. Good maps have a wealth of information - historical, natural and touristy. You could check the routes between the places you have on your list, and see what else there is to see along the way.