Default Sanfrancisco to Las Vegas

Hi all , this is my first time using this site and looking forward to all your advice . My name is Paul and I'm from England UK . I'm planning a trip to the US next year with my wife around Sept/Oct . We would like to fly into San Francisco stay 2/3 nights then drive to Las Vegas via Yosemite and Death Valley . I would like to drive on the most scenic roads and route staying for 1 night in Yosemite and 1 night in Death Valley albeit if we need to stay 1 extra night enroute then that's no problem . We aim then to spend 5 nights in Las Vegas flying on to Florida for 2 weeks . I would invite you to offer your much needed advice ! Yours sincerely Jolley-Nock

South of England.

Default An amazing drive !

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

Having visited Yosemite the favoured route [and most scenic imo] would be to travel over the Sierra's on Tioga Pass [CA120] and then head south down US 395 to Lone Pine and then take CA136/190 across Death valley. When you get to Death valley junction where 190 meets 127 you can take the 'Locals route', turnin g right and immediate left onto State line Road/ Bell Vista road to Pahrump and then 160 into Vegas.

I would certainly recommend adding another night in Yosemite as it is a big and beautiful place with much to explore including the Valley, Glacier point, Mariposa Grove and the highlights over Tioga Pass. The views from Glacier point should not be missed !

There is much to do in Vegas and the surrounding area but with 5 nights I would plan on spending at least one at Grand canyon NP on the south rim. It's to far for a day trip and tours from Vegas generally go to the West rim which is a tourist trap and not part of the National park and nowhere near as spectacular.