1. Default Road trip from Clinton, NY to Cheyenne, WY

Hello! I am trying to plan a road trip for summer 2017 from Clinton, NY to Cheyenne, WY. This is my first time planning anything of this sort and I have no clue where to begin! I would love to know what kind of affordable friendly lodging is available in or near Cheyenne. We also were planning on stopping in Loveland, CO and would like any kind of helpful info about this areas lodging! Any extra information about planning a road trip and figuring out prices for gas and motels along the way is much appreciated! Thanks!

Melbourne, Australia

Default Start at the very beginning....

Hi, and Welcome to the Great American Roadtrip Forum

Quote Originally Posted by Treese09 View Post
    This is my first time planning anything of this sort and I have no clue where to begin!
    There is no better way to start planning a road trip, than by following the advice in this paragraph......

Quote Originally Posted by AZBuck
    Start with maps. Not GPS, not software, not Google, but real honest-to-god paper maps that show you your entire route, that you can mark up (and erase), that you can stick pins in, and that show something about the land you'll be driving through. Those are your essential tool in any RoadTrip planning process. Start by marking all the places you know you want to visit. Then connect the dots. Then look for more places of interest and scenic routes along the lines connecting the dots. Repeat until you've got as many sites and roads as you think you want.
    Good maps are available from AAA (free if you are a member) and Rand McNally - or you may prefer to work with a road atlas.

Tucson, AZ

Default Start with Some Basics