Default Suggested Routes Florida Gulf Coast To Yellowstone

Hi From A Newby On This site! Taking off in a week or so from Panama City to Yellowstone and points west in the Papa Don-A-Mobile (2010 Fleetwwod Pulse 24D RV). Flying solo with no time constraints. Not overly fond of Interstates, but it is a pretty long trip. Thinking of taking the Natchez Trace to start with, but once it ends looking for recommendations on routing.

All suggestions welcomed! I was a corporate pilot for forty years, so lots of 'road trips' in rental cars, but now if I find someplace I really like, I can just stop and enjoy! Like to kayak, bike and hike and will have all that equipment with me. Little fishing too.

Papa Don

Welcome to RTA!

When do you plan to arrive in Yellowstone? The reason I ask....once Labor Day weekend goes by, Yellowstone begins to shut down, little by little. Some campgrounds will be closing Sept. 5th, Fishing Bridge RV waits until Sept. 18th. Beyond that, Mammoth CG is the only one open all year, and Tower Falls CG is open through Sept. 26th.Open and closing of facilities listing can be found here.

Donna

Default That's a Definite Cross-Wind Runway

I don't really think that the Natchez Trace is going to work for you since its alignment (roughly southwest-northeast) is 90º off your 'flight path' (roughly southeast-northwest). There are, however, several other scenic routes that are worth exploring as you continue to plan your final route. Among these are parts of the Great River Road, US-30 along the Platte River in Nebraska which follows the route of the old Oregon Trail, Loess Hills Scenic Byway, the Beartooth Highway, the Rockefeller Memorial Parkway, the Dinosaur Diamond Prehistoric Highway, the Santa Fe Trail, what's left of old Route 66, and the Talimena Scenic Drive.