1. Default Early Fall Roadtrip-- Chapel Hill, NC to Yakima, Washington

Sorry if this isn't the right place for this, but it is a roadtrip, technically. Less of a fun roadtrip than most, but for reasons beyond my control, I'm going to be making the drive from Chapel Hill, NC (kind of northern North Carolina) to Yakima, Washington (southern Washington State).

Trip needs to be before October, but honestly, the sooner the better, so I'm thinking either late August or early September. From my own research, I've decided that my best bet is probably taking I-40 to 1-90 for most of the drive. Like I said, this isn't really a "fun" trip, so I'm probably not making many detours/stops at sightseeing places. I'm estimating the drive will take about five or six days, providing for stops and unforeseen issues.

Information on my driving history; I'm a decent driver, no history of accidents. My car's on the older scale for some, a 2004 Volvo v70, but it's in solid shape (I need to hold the bumper on with tape sometimes, but that's not a huge deal). The longest drive I've ever managed was Madison, NJ to Chapel Hill, NC, about an 8 or 9 hour drive, so I'm not totally inexperienced. I've allocated about 3k for the trip.

I guess what I'm asking is for advice. Are my estimates (specifically the 5 or 6 days for the trip/3k for the cost) reasonable? Is this a drive someone could manage? Any suggestions for finding hotels along the way? General things I should know for a trip like this? Again, sorry if this isn't the right place for this, but I really do need some help, and I don't have a lot of folks to reach out to right now.

Default Optimizing the Details

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!