Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default First Road Trip - 50 days!

I'm new to the forum :)

My wife and I are coming to the states next year in May/June. We just booked our flights this morning and we are so excited that we are actually going to the states. We've been dying to come to the states but we first had to tick off a few countries before doing so and we didn't want to rush the states. It's still a while away but I like getting things sorted as soon as possible and getting in on good deals etc.

Over the past 2 weeks we've been researching and we’re feeling quite overwhelmed by all the different options, transport means, vast landscape, costs and everything else involved.

Our initial plan was to rent an RV for the duration but soon scrapped that idea after finding out just how much it costs. I am a keen driver and I’ve got a fair bit of driving experience in South Africa and Australia. My wife wants to road trip but not as much as I do and thinks that we should fly to a few places to save time. My initial plan was to do a massive loop trip, LA – NY – LA, but I’m starting to think that might be a bit too much.

We want to avoid one-way rental fees by doing loop trips only.

I have a few starting questions:
    1. Where should we and shouldn’t we rent a car? I’m assuming New York?
    2. Is it advised to get a navigation device and pre-load the maps?
    3. What are possible things to look out for when we’re over there? Any festivals and traffic delays etc?
    4. Is a train trip NY – Washington DC – Philadelphia – NY easily doable and convenient? Or better to rent a car?

Must list:
    • New York
    • Los Angeles
    • Albertville, Alabama
    • Grand Canyon
    • Portland
    • Las Vegas
    • Seattle
    • San Francisco
    • Chicago
    • Yosemite
    • Yellowstone
    • Philadelphia
    • Washington DC
    • Vancouver

So far we’ve come up with a rough initial plan.

Land in LA – Pick up car rental (4 nights)
    Drive to Yosemite (1 night)