1. Default prettiest detour driving from Norwich, VT to Syracuse, NY on a summer day?

Dear RTA forum,

From Norwich, VT to Syracuse, NY is only about a 4.5 hour drive if I just stay on the freeways (I-91 S and I-90 W). But since I have allowed about 7-8 hours driving time, I was hoping to get some advice on a more scenic route(s) to take. Something that maybe goes through some of the Adirondacks and/or through some picturesque towns and/or farmland...

Having lived most of my life in the desert southwest and coastal Southern California, I am not only unfamiliar with the northeast but also would think most any scenic route(s) you suggest to be wonderful since it will be so different compared to the part of the country I am more used to seeing. I studied and searched quite a few of the threads in the Planning Summer Road Trips forum category but most posters have more time available to them for exploring the upstate NY and upper VT area. And then the info on just the Adirondacks alone is a little overwhelming to me. I unfortunately only have one day to get from point A to point B. From reading the forums I'm thinking that I definitely need to plan a trip back to the northeast when I have more time to explore (wow the gorgeous northeast autumn photos!).

I totally understand if this is not something you usually give advice on since it's such a short trip and awfully specific. Just thought it wouldn't hurt to ask in case anyone has advice to give (and for anyone who might be searching for something similar in the future).

Thanks, RTA!

Tucson, AZ

Default Tough to Pick Just One

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!