Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Los Angeles to Reno/Lake Tahoe

Hello. I am thinking about driving up from the Los Angeles area to visit Lake Tahoe and Reno in July, as I have never visited before. There may be as many as seven people total on the trip, using a rented mini-van. I am a relatively slow driver (at or slightly below speed limit), don't have the greatest reflexes, and not adventurous. Therefore, I am looking for the safest and easiest route since I am responsible for six other lives. I would prefer to avoid winding roads and steep inclines.

I have heard that there are three common routes: the 5, 99, and 395. Most people say that the 5 is boring while the 395 is beautiful. However, I could not find anything about the driving conditions of these three routes (plenty of posts about these routes' conditions when snowing). Which one is the easiest to drive?

Thanks for your help and feedback. I very much appreciate it.

Default Not sure I know what you are asking.

Hi, and Welcome to the Great American Roadtrip Forum.

I am a little puzzled by what you mean eeasiest to drive?

All three routes are paved, and all see some mountain driving, though nothing drastic as far as steep grades go. They are not all divided roads, nor are they necessarily multilane highways, but as for ease of driving, any one with a driver's licence should not have a problem.

Perhaps you could be a little more specific with your question.

Lifey

You really have nothing to worry about on any of those routes and of the 3, I would take US395. If you are planning to do the journey in a single day you should get on the road early and take plenty of short breaks along the way.

4. Default