1. Default Chicago to ... ?? (5-6 days in an RV)

Hello all,

Here's the background - Have taken the kids camping since they have been 3 or 4. Currently they are 11, 9 and 5 (boy, girl, boy). They enjoy tent camping, hiking and exploring but also enjoy a good water or amusement park here and there. I am a school teacher and have been toying with the idea of getting a pop-up camper or RV for summer use (while the kids still are young enough to like me). So, I thought I could rent an RV this summer and give it a trial run.

I wanted to start small and not go overboard, so I thought 5-6 days would be PLENTY of a test. All the kids travel well and get along. I am looking for suggestions for a trip out of Chicago. The time frame will likely be the days following July 4th (yeah, I know...). I think the Black Hills will likely be too far, but could do a two-day chug out there with a cool stop along the way in MN, spend 2 days and come back. Perhaps a loop down to Mammoth Caves - although my oldest seemed to balk at entering an enormous cave.

Just looking for some ideas as this seemed like the place to go for that.

Many thanks in advance.

Default Where Will Depend on What

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

I would think that this is a trip that, as you note, is as much a shake down cruise as a RoadTrip. For that reason, there's going to be quite a bit of interplay between what you finally decide to get for transportation/camping and where you finally end up going. No matter what you end up with from a fairly simple pop-up to full blown RV is going to entail some getting used to so you'll want to get into your camp site each night with time to spare before nightfall so that you're not fumbling around in the dark with unfamiliar equipment.