1. Default Moving from Arizona to Massachusetts (Help)

Hi everyone,

I first want to say that I'm really happy that there is such a forum where people can share helpful advice for others when they head out on their road trips. I just graduated at Arizona State and I luckily got a great job out in Boston. I also just got a new car and I'm planning to leave next Tuesday and hopefully arrive by Friday early afternoon.

So according to Google maps, my 39 hour trip goes as follows:

Phoenix - Alberqurque - Oklahoma City - St. Louis - Indianapolis - Columbus - Cleveland - Buffalo - Syracuse - Albany - Boston

I really want to say that I want to drive 12 hours each day and make my Friday morning an easy 3 hour drive into Boston. I've never done anything like this before so my questions I have for all of you are:

• What are the best places to get a hotel? Should I be shooting for a small town or actual city? I'm sure small towns have the cheapest prices but as for safety, comfortability, reliability.
    • Is driving 12 hours a day really doable?
    • Since I have some pretty cool cities to go through, any recommendations on siteseeing?

Thank you guys so much for all of your help!

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

Whereas distances on Google map are correct their timing is not. It's a computer so it thinks we can run all day at the speed limit without having to stop for fuel, food, rest or have to face traffic congestion and construction delays. So this is isn't a trip that can be measured in hours, it's at least 4 and a half days [5 really] to do this without becoming fatigued and a danger to yourself and others on the road. You will need to leave Monday to get in Friday afternoon or plan to arrive on Saturday.

With your time crunch you will be better off finding Motels just off Interstate exits and if you are near a main city look for those to the east of the centre. That way you will be going in the opposite direction of a lot of the morning rush traffic.