Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Round trip San Jose, Death Valley, Bryce Without LV or Grand Canyon

Hi there. I'm New to this great forum. My friend and I have 6 or 7 days to go to Death Valley, Bryce, possibly Zion and back starting April 25th. We are bypassing Las Vegas and Grand Canyon having been to both many times. It's a photo expedition of a sort. I'm a beginner and Cris is a talented amateur. We have some Frequent Flyer miles to use on the first night, thought about springing for more $$ to stay at Furnace Creek Resort (worth it?) the second...then onto Bryce. We don't have to do a Park a day but would like suggestions from the photographers out there where we might linger. Roadside attractions that you recommend that we not miss? Favorite motels? Thanks a bunch!

Southern California

Welcome to RTA!

It's just around 1650 miles to go from San Jose over to Death Valley, on to Bryce, down to Zion, and back to San Jose, but that's sometimes retracing your steps. You could do something like:

Day 1 - Drive San Jose to Death Valley. Someone else will have to chime in on Furnace Creek Resort, but most folks stay in the park if they can afford it, just to be near everything. Just under 500 miles, so it will be a driveable day, still a bit long.

Day 2 - See Death Valley.

Day 3 - Drive Death Valley to Zion, just under 300 miles. Spend rest of day seeing Zion, and the next day too.

Day 4 - See Zion.

Day 5 - Drive Zion to Bryce, about 85 miles, and spend the rest of the day seeing Bryce.

Day 6 and 7 - Spend 2 days driving home. You're just under 900 miles from San Jose, so that's a day and a half or two days.

Photographers love these three national parks. Flora, fauna, nature's landscapes, a sunrise or a sunset, a short hike to get things not-often-photographed, etc.

Tucson, AZ

Default Possible Additions (and Subtractions)