1. Default Round trip, cross country road trip in Aug.

Hi All,

I joined this site a few months back, but this is my first time posting. I've been reading all of your great posts and thought you could give me some practical advice with our trip. If you think I'm totally nuts, tell me that too. LOL

My daughter is heading to college in PA in August, we live in AZ, and her wish was to do a huge family road trip to get her out there. I will be traveling with my six kids (ages 7-18) solo for the majority of the trip. My husband was going to fly out when we made it to the east coast, drive and sight see out there, help move her into the dorm and then help me drive back home. The kids wanted to make this an epic journey, not a straight shot deal. Since it's summer, I've chosen to head north and then east, to avoid the high temperatures along with the high humidity.

IF, notice the big if there ;), IF we were to do a plan as listed below, how long would it really take if you consider stopping to see attractions, hike, etc. Real days, not google map days. :) I know some of these city to city markings are really long driving days. Those were more final destination to site see rather than actual one day driving times. Feel free to let me know when/where I should stop between these big chunks of miles. Also, how long at each spot you think is a good amount of time to spend (days, hours). Imagine the drive time to get to the east coast is the entire summer, minus the two weeks at the end when she's due at the dorm, the time on the east coast is 1.5 weeks and the drive home is another week. Thanks for any and all advice! (Times and miles listed are from Google maps. I know reality is much longer. :) )

Route East
    Phoenix to Page, AZ (Antelope Canyon was on the wish list)
    Page to SLC
    SLC to Breckenridge, CO (I headed this way because I know lodging along the Teton/Yellowstone route is already booked)
    Breckenridge - Rapid City, SD
    Rapid City - Minneapolis, MN