1. Default New York to Washington state road trip

Hi All,
    I am a newbie! Looking to do my dream USA road trip in September 2017.
    The plan is east coast to west coast ...... 3 weeks to do it.
    I want to hire a car in New York then from looking and plotting on the map service available on this website I have been thinking
    New York-Cleveland-Chicago-Minnesota-Milwaukee-badlands in South Dakota-Montana -Washington state. This is 2,832 miles which seems doable if we even take 300 miles per day that's 10 days.
    Does this all sound doable at that time of year? We have pretty much got Montana to Washington state sorted as my husband is from Seattle and we plan to end up at his mums and spend an additional week with her and then fly home from Seattle.
    I guess I want to know if the before bits sound ok with regards to seeing places of interest? And if I rent a car in New York it doesn't give me an option to drop off in Seattle ? Also looking to stay in motels but again this option isn't coming up only hotels. Any pointers will be greatly appreciated
    TIA

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

The trip you've outlined is certainly possible, and September can be a fantastic time to travel cross country. You're past the summer crowds and heat, but the mountain areas that are impacted by an early winter are still open and comfortable to visit.

As far as your questions, I'm not really sure what you're asking.

All one way car rentals are going to be quite expensive, especially when you're talking about a cross country trip. That fee alone is likely going to add hundreds of dollars to your car rental costs. However, I don't have any idea about what you are talking about when you say "it doesn't give you an option to drop off in Seattle." What is the "it" you're referring too?