Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Toronto to Orlando in October - First Family road trip

Good afternoon all,
    Newbie here and I was hoping you might be able to help. We are travelling from Toronto to Kissimmee in October. We are hoping to do the trip in two days, leaving very early on Day one. Our kids are accustomed to 12-13 hr drives (my mother lives 12 hrs away). We were wondering the best route to take and best places to stop along the way. We are hoping to be in Georgia or Kentucky (depending on route) by the end of day one. We have not yet decided on i75 vs i95 but are leaning toward i95 (crossing in Buffalo) vs crossing into Detroit as we are more familiar with that crossing.

Any help would be appreciated.
    Thank you

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

Toronto to Orlando is at the very maximum of what can safely be done in two days - even that's pushing it a bit, and that's if you take the shortest route. The shortest route is what I'm guessing you're calling I-95, although you'd only use I-95 for a pretty short distance. You'd cross at Buffalo, and then head down through Pittsburgh and West Virginia using I-79/US-19/I-77.

Really the only place you can safely plan to spend the night is at the halfway point near Hillsville, Virginia. As it is, that will already mean a minimum of 12-13 hours on the road, and it won't leave any time for any extra stops along the way.

There is no point in Georgia where you can safely drive from Toronto in one day. Going via Detroit adds another 100 miles to the trip, which puts it far beyond a safe distance to travel in 2 days.

3. Default

Thank you for the response! Would you then recommend two stops? If so, what are the best two. And yes, I mean the 79/77/95 route.

Default The Difference Between One and Two