1. Default Raleigh, NC to Mesa Verde National Park, CO

This summer we are planning on a Trip from Raleigh out west and back. We have planned on about 21 days and are pulling our travel trailer staying at different spots along the way. My initial thought was to go north and through St.Louis on the way out and then come South to I-40 on the way back. We have reservations at a RV park for for 7 days in CO. I figured that gives us 7 days out and 7 days back. I am new to this type of planning so any tips or ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Some ideas of things I would like to see.
    1. The arch in St. Louis. - I have heard there are some troubles with this.
    2. Graceland in Memphis.
    3. The Great Sand Dunes National Park.

What things are around I-70 on the way out in Kansas or Missouri? We are thinking that there will be at least a few overnights in those states as we will likely be tired of driving. Also would it be just as interesting in those states to take a state road rather than I-70?

I have the same questions about I-40 between New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, and Arkansas.

I look forward to this discussion.

Default Getting started.

Hello and Welcome to the Great American Roadtrip Forum.

I am new to this type of planning so any tips or ideas will be greatly appreciated.
    By far your best bet will be to follow the advice in this paragraph:-

Quote Originally Posted by AZBuck
    Start with maps. Not GPS, not software, not Google, but real honest-to-god paper maps that show you your entire route, that you can mark up (and erase), that you can stick pins in, and that show something about the land you'll be driving through. Those are your essential tool in any RoadTrip planning process. Start by marking all the places you know you want to visit. Then connect the dots. Then look for more places of interest and scenic routes along the lines connecting the dots. Repeat until you've got as many sites and roads as you think you want.